Home

Early A.M Greetings, Pilgrims…

It seems like forever since I blogged last.  It could probably be due to the fact that getting a photo-pass these days is like spending a fortune on a lottery ticket and getting the numbers wrong again & again & again….you get the picture.

So when you do get a pass, you genuinely hope that it’ll be a good night, not only just in terms of photography, but also in music & atmosphere.  And so it was yesterday evening at the Indigo 02 where there was a celebration of R’n’B love songs (or is it spelt R&B??) from the 90s. Yes, Folks, if you love your music without the stupidity of bling, shoot-em ups & ye-ye-ye! lyrics, then yesterday’s gig was the place to be, even if it was on a Sunday night.

So, in no particular running order, here’s a list of who was on:

You had grammy nominated Jon B:

Jon_B_AKN__pixgremlin_akin_aworan__

Pictorially, he just wasn’t working for me.  I think it’s the keyboard he was holding kind of killed it visually.  If anything, I don’t think the crowd minded, especially when it came to singing to all his hits, which, to be honest, I have no idea what they are!

Jon B

Horace Brown :

Horace Brown at Indigo o2

Horace Brown at Indigo o2

Now this dude loved to pose to the camera & may I just say that he had the women eating from the palm of his hands.  Towards the end of his set, he striped down to his torso.  Now, imagine an auditorium packed with women already high on sexual endorphin: do you honestly think I’m going to stick around to take more pictures of him? I don’t think so!

Tevin Campbell has one of those faces that just won’t age, just like his classic tune, “Can We talk?”.  I double dare you to tell any woman worth her salt in the knowledge of RnB that this song sucks. I dare ya!  I am going to go out on a limb and ask why did Tevin wear a jacked that was clearly bigger than his frame. Must be some new fad I missed reading the memo about.

Tevin Campbell

I don’t know where Ms. Shola Ama has been all this time, but it was good to see her again yesterday.

Shola_Ama__pixgremlin_akin_aworan_

She had her kid sister, Sade (I think that’s her name) also come out to perform with her yesterday.  All the best to the both of them!

Shola_and_Sade_Ama__pixgremlin_akin_aworan_

Right: I have a minute before I start work, so I apologise that this blog seems rushed, but you get the gist of the night.

Pax vobiscum, pilgrims!!

2 thoughts on “Back to the 90s, Old School styling…

  1. Great pics as usual. I don’t know how you manage to only take a few shots and still get the best work! I usually shoot like a paparazzi and still only get a few good ones.
    I always enjoy your blog too 🙂

Leave a Reply

