Home

Dominos Vobiscum, Pilgrims…

As part of the ongoing Somerset House Music Series, it was the turn of Progressive Rock band The Mars Volta to appease the paying masses.  We photographers were advised that we’d be given only 8 minutes to cover the gig. That would equate to a song and half.  At least that’s much more than can be said for Britney Spears (‘4 minutes from the back’); Stevie Wonder (‘1 minute & something seconds’); and my personal favourite, Beyonce: (30 seconds!) At 30 seconds, why would anyone even bother? I didn’t!

Anyway, I’m in no mood to rant, so here are some shots from the limited night:

The Mars Volta at Somerset House, London

Lead vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala:

The Mars Volta at Somerset House


Guitarist Omar Alfredo Rodríguez-López:

The Mars Volta at Somerset House

I’m actually annoyed with myself for this shot. Why, oh why did I set the camera to 1/125th when I should have had it on at about 1/250th, considering I knew he was running all over the place? Well, I can live & learn from this mistake. Besides, I can classify this shot as being ‘Avant-garde’. 😛  Worst thing about this gig was that just when it was begining to be fun, we were ushered out of the pit.  Damn you, restrictive Jobsworths!!

The Mars Volta at Somerset House

Pax, Pilgrims!

4 thoughts on “8 Minutes with The Mars Volta

  1. Excellent! I didn’t know they were playing at SH. Bah… How was the sound? It seems to generally be awful when they play live from personla experience and what others have passed on to me. Great shots as ever. 🙂

    • My liege!! The sound wasn’t bad. Then again, it could be because I had my earplugs on. As I said, just when you’re about to have fun, we’re chucked out. I owe you a drink and a usb drive. 🙂

  2. Kinda used one of your pics on my blog but provided a link… (Hope that’s ok) Thanks for the shots…amazing! Greatest ProgRock band in the world hands down!!!

Leave a comment