Home

… by being told at the last minute you’re shooting Toto from right the back!

Pax vobiscum, pilgrims!

It’s often said that when a situation gives you lemons, make lemonade. I’m sorry, but without some sugar it’s going to suck!

There’s a reason why I rarely shoot at HMV Apollo, and had I known that we’d be ask to shoot from the mixing desk, I’d have waved this gig ‘bye-bye!’  I have a theory that there must be something in the water that makes the musicians insist that photographers shoot from such a distance at a standing (not seated, Standing) concert where there will be the inevitable arms in the air . Let’s face it, this wasn’t going to be gig with the Symphony Orchestra; Toto are rockers, so having a couple of photographers in the pit for 10 minutes wouldn’t have killed anyone.  I mean, it’s Toto for Gods sake!! If this were a Barbara Streisand/Dolly Parton/Debbie Harry (you see where I’m going with this!), concert, then I’d understand throwing us right at the back so as not to catch ‘ageing lines’ in action.  In the delightful, colourful words of a fellow photographer who regretted coming to shoot tonight’s gig: “@@!**!**!&!&!!!!!*^!%!!!!!. Even security had sympathy for us, and that rarely, if ever, happens.  My only consolation: I love the music, so the 7 minutes I had to shoot the gig, I saw legends Steve Luthakar & Nathan East in action, so I guess that counts for something.

Pictorially, all was not lost. Thanks to the power of steady hands, RAW, full frame files and the mighty crop, I at least managed to salvage at least something…I think:

Food for Thought & Soul: But Daniel purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself with the portion of the king’s meat. Daniel 1: 8

Leave a Reply

