Home

Wotcha, pilgrims!

Ok, just back from a very interesting double billed gig at the Barbican. First off was  fellow Nigerian, the singer Aṣa, and to be honest, my initial thoughts about her music before last night were more along the lines of ‘Meh‘.  Yesterday, though, she made a believer out of me.  I had no idea she she’s behind the song, ‘Be my Man‘:

For the second half we had Ivorian musical exile, Tiken Jah Fakoly: Now, I’d heard before the gig that there may be some protest against him due to his political stance about the government of Cote’d Ivoire.  I didn’t stick around to find out, but I did see Police in the foyer while leaving. From witnessing the first 2 tracks, I hope his set went uninterrupted.  Seemed like everyone was enjoying themselves:

Food for Thought & Soul: ‘ Keep your tongue from evil, and your lips from speaking guile’. – Psalms 34-13.

One thought on “Asa & Tiken Jah Fakoly

  1. I’d always liked Asa, but this made her go up some notches on my scale, just wonderful!!

    Tiken was just another level!!! awesome night.

Leave a Reply

