Home

Hello pilgrims!

Last time I was the recipient of residual ‘highness’, I used to live in a flat above an elderly neighbour who was heavily medicated on vegetational medicinal.  One minute I’d hear her singing way off key in the early hours of the morning, and the next I’d hear her giggling through the hollow floorboards late at night.  I swear there was this one time that I could over-hear a full blown argument she was having with her fellow retirees about who was the greatest: Michael Jackson or Bob Marley.  So it was no wonder at times initially I’d seem mellow.  It was all because she’d fire up and let, apparently, the ‘good times roll‘ (no pun intended!).

So it came as no surprise to see whiffs of spliff up in the air at yesterday’s ram-packed Damian Marley, Nas & Erykah Badu gig at Wembley Arena.  How the stuff got into the premises despite the presence of Police dogs shouldn’t even be a mystery, but what did you expect at a gig like this?  And yes, I did inhale, but not out of choice!

Shooting was always going to be a challenge, and not just because of the high stage.  You have to performers who are wired up like duracell bunnies: running from one end of the stage to the other and when they do happen to stand together, just make sure you don’t ram into another photographer, the fixed video camera, and God forbid, part of the entourage who might take offence for you actually being there doing your job:

( I know what you’re thinking: cardinal rookie mistake: framing the shot and in the process cutting out the hands.  Hey, I’m not fussed: I’ll take anything when trying to get both of them together!!)

Personally, I reckon Damian Marley is much more fun to shoot.  I mean, visually, Nas is great, but Damian? ‘Ave it!!:

Of course, to compliment the main gig, you’re going to have to bring out some style for the warm up act: Enter Ms Erykah Badu

Right, that’s it pilgrims. Have a great day, whatever you do.

Food for thought & Soul: ‘My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever’. Ps 73:26

Leave a Reply

