Home

Pax vobiscum, pilgrims!

First time I shot The Brand New Heavies, I was ‘flipped the birdie’ by the lead singer, N’Dea Davenport.  I didn’t know it at the time, but apparently she has a dislike for having her picture taken/hates photographers (delete where applicable!) during live performances.   Security told us before  start of the show that they even had a 15 minute briefing about photographers in the pit. How true that is or not is debatable.  Of course, the obvious logical question to ask would be: “Then why allow anyone into the pit to shoot, then?”  To be honest, I don’t know and I don’t care. What I was more worried about was whether Ms. Davenport may have an ulterior motive for wanting photographers in the pit.  I mean, who knows what devious schemes are being formed in a performer’s head?  For all I know, she could just remove her shades and turn us into stone, just for taking pictures.  You think I’m being paranoid.  Can you blame me?  And there I was thinking my encounter with  John McLaughlin was scary!

Besides, who am I to invite trouble? Shoot from a safe distance, I say. Of course, being black has it’s advantages at live music gig.  Never have shadows been so inviting: whack on the 70-200 lens, shoot from the dark corner of the stage , and hope for the best! I don’t think Robert Capa ever shot with a long distance lens. Had he done so, he’d have thought twice about his mantra, “If your photographs are not good enough, then you are not close enough!

That said, though, I really did try to enjoy the gig, but at the back of my mind I just didn’t want to get on Ms. Davenport’s bad side.  If she could flip me the birdie then, who knows what she’s capable of doing next?!?  The rest of the band were cool though. Truth be told, though: it was like playing hide and seek! Anyway, ’nuff said.

Andrew Levy on bass:

Simon Bartholomew on guitar:

Food for Thought & Soul: ‘For the Lord sees not as man sees; for man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.’ -1 Samuel 16:7

One thought on “Brand New Heavies at Indigo 02, London

Leave a Reply

