Home

Wotcha, pilgrims!

First things first: I never thought that I’d ever shoot anything for a while to come a the Jazz Cafe, especially since the last time I requested for a photo-pass to a gig and was told politely that I’d have to pay £250 for the privilege.   Ummmm, let me see….I know: I’ll just go and cash in all my ‘Work for a free Byline ©‘ coupons. That ought to cover the cost. 🙂

But it was all good on the night. The missus had organised a pass to shoot a group of ‘lousy talented punks'(trust me: I use that line to hide my envy of talented people! Can you believe that the lead singer has a Gold Medalist in Masters in Microbiology and can sing!) led by the charismatic Raghu Dixit. This chap comes on stage, dressed in a hippy-fied ‘lungi’s, bows in appreciation to the audience for coming out, and then proceeds to belt out ‘Soruthihudu Maniya Maligi’. I just knew right there and then that this was going to be great gig.  And how!

It’s not often you go to a gig and enjoy the essence of the music, despite not understanding a word of the dialect.  Thankfully, us non-speakers got a quick crash-course on what was being sung.

On the Bass guitar was Gaurav Vaz:

Percussion with Wilfred D’moz:

Vijay Joseph on lead guitar:

and let’s not forget Karthick Iyer on Violin:

I couldn’t stay for the whole show, but I did listen to what would have to be one of my favourite tracks, ‘Mysore’.

Guys, I wish you the very best with the music, and when you do win your Grammy, can I have a hook-up to take your pictures again, please? 🙂

Food for Thought & Soul: ‘He who is slow to anger is better than the Mighty.’-Proverbs 16:34

Pax Vobiscum, pilgrims!

One thought on “Raghu Dixit at Jazz Cafe, London

  1. Hi Akin!

    It was great meeting you at the concert, thanks for coming and for these lovely photographs! We should continue our music discussion very soon!

    -Gaurav

Leave a comment