Home

Pax vobiscum, pilgrims!

It took going to a Chipmunk gig earlier on today to hear in their full entirety Justin Bieber’s ‘Baby, Baby‘, and Lady Gaga’s ‘Just Dance‘.  First off, isn’t this young Justin still in his diapers to be singing about girls, or am I just getting way too old? According to my nieces, I probably am getting too old to ‘get it’.  As for Lady Gaga’s track, well I’d say it’s an acquired taste. In short, I was not impressed by both these 2 monster hits.

But I digress: Back to London’s Indigo 02, in which we are introduced to the rap stylings of the young Jahmaal Noel Fyffe, otherwise known as ‘Chipmunk‘.  There were already queues around the block of young pubescent teenagers all clambering  to get front stage access to watch tonight’s show. I’ll be honest with you all: never hearing any of Chipmunk’s material, I thought it was going to turn out to be some young whippersnapper screaming “Brrp, brrp!! into a mic with an accompanying DJ and uttering those famous lines that tend to make up for lack of any talent: “MAKE SOME NOISE!!”  After the travesty that was Fabolous a couple of weeks ago, I had every reason to be skeptical. So I was pleasantly surprised to see a live band thrown in for good measure! Thus, I began to see why this young man actually does have some musical pedigree and will probably do well in his chosen career:

I can see why he’s called ‘Chipmunk’. At least he’s a good sport about it:

I have no idea what he was singing and such, but the crowd seemed to be lapping up everything he was going on about, so I guess that’s all that counts…

© Images Akin Aworan.

Right, that’s it for the night!  Have a good night, pilgrims!

Leave a Reply

