Home

‘Time and tide wait for no man. A pompous and self-satisfied proverb, and was true for a billion years; but in our day of electric wires and water-ballast we turn it around: Man waits not for time nor tide.’Mark Twain

Good morning pilgrims!

I was asked this question recently: If I could hijack H.G Wells’ ‘Time Machine‘ or Doc’s DeLorean from ‘Back to the Future‘ (yes, I know that they are both works of fiction, although if they really did exist, rest assured the US Govt would take extreme measures to keep that knowledge secret!) and go back into time of ye olde yonder, where would I go in relation to photography? And while pondering over this Time Leaping scenario, bear in mind that it’ll have to be before electricity, so the last century is out; and it’ll have to be waaaaaaaay after the Middle Ages.  You don’t want to find yourself being burnt at the stake for your brand of witchcraft i.e capturing people via a ‘magic box’. Heresy!

I still don’t know where I’d want to go, but I know for damn sure that I don’t want to be anywhere near America or Europe between the 16th & 19th Century;  that’s for damn sure!!  Even being in parts of Africa would have been detrimental to me, in relation to above sentence. (See reference to America & Europe)

You know what: I’m going to have to ask my colleague whether being invisible during said ‘time travel’ would be ok.

In real time London at the moment, though, it’s snowing again.

Pax!

One thought on “Time-Travel Photography

  1. Haha if you were invisible, then you could choose to go to any of those times. I think I would choose to go to the time when people with dark skin ruled the world…just so that I would have photographic proof that it actually happened! Take that, white historians!

Leave a Reply

