Home

Top of the Morning, Pilgrims

I have to admit that there are some gigs that I cover that I have to keep in check all my ‘envy’ when I see a really, really good performance. So much so, if you ever hear me muttering while I’m shooting a gig, what you might hear me saying, in a Homer Simpsonesque voice is, “Lousy Talented Punk!” So that we’re clear: while I may be grumbling on like that, it does not diminish for a second how much respect and awe I have towards said talented ‘punks’.

Take yesterday’s performance of Bass guitarist, Richard Bona, at the Barbican.   I have a theory that before this talented maestro came into the world, The Lord Almighty must have placed with Richard, bass strings while he was in his mother’s womb.  I actually believe that, if you were to ask Richard Bona’s mother what it was like during her pregnancy, and I am sure she’d have stories to tell!

But joking apart, if you’ve never seen Richard Bona live or heard any of his music before, I would highly recommend him.  The guy is a genius on bass.  Not only that, he can also sing at the same time. I mean, I try ‘singing’ while taping to beat and I mess that up!!  Check out his latest album, ’10 Shades of Blue’.  My Personal favourite: ‘Shiva Mantra’.

Richard Bona at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

Richard Bona at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

I can’t believe I made a rookie mistake for this shot: Always get the full shot… if you can!)

Richard Bona at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

As for yesterday’s support act, the best way of describing Hindi Zahra’s style of music is like a Erykah Badu combo with Jazzyfatnastees.  This lady brings sexy back in a sultry way when it comes to singing.

Hindi Zahra at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

Hindi Zahra at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

Hindi Zahra at Barbican. Images by Pixgremlin Aworan

One thought on “Richard Bona & Hindi Zahra at the Barbican

  1. Hi,

    Im typing this… to thank u for the lovely photo u had taken at the Vinnai Thaandi varuvaaya audio Launch in london… A.R.R, Gautham Menon and Ashanthi Omkar..
    i had taken it to use it as my Facebook profile pic….

    Thanks for ur service

    Loving
    Dyena- DJ/Announcer/Producer- Shakthi Fm Srilanka

Leave a Reply

