Home

Wotcha, you beautiful pilgrims!

I’m not much of a hip-hop/rap fan. If anything, I’m more of the ‘Old School’ Alumni.  Give me The Roots, A tribe Called Quest, Mos Def anytime; these are the names I’d normally associate with hip-hop.   And then you have that other class of ‘hippity-hop‘ types that’s not my jug of orange juice, but are doing wonders for record sales and probably reinforcing a stereotypical image of how certain brands of hip-hop is portrayed in the media.  Please jump forward, Mr. Lil Wayne, aka Mr. Dwayne Michael Carter, Jr. :

Lil Wayne at HMV Hammersmith Apollo

I’ve heard some of Lil Wayne’s stuff and to be honest, I’m not a fan of his music.  Sure, some of his lyrics are poignant, but it’s not really jazz, is it? 🙂 (Yes, I am a big jazz fan, as you may have gathered by that sentence!) Despite his hyperactive performance, I had no idea what he was saying. He could have been singing in pig latin for all I knew.  The only thing I could pick out was ”F**k This‘ & “sh******t” that!”  Such colourful language.  The audience, on the other hand, couldn’t care less, which is a shame, since there were kids in the audience.  Welcome to the ‘wonderful world of socio-linguistic desensitization.   Apparently this gig was sold out, and I can see in some ways why this guy is stacked with grammys.

Lil Wayne at HMV Hammersmith Apollo

That said, there’s  one song by Lil Wayne that featured Robin Thicke called ‘Tie my Hands’ that I really, really, really love. Not sure if he played it in this playset.  How would I know: as is normally the case, all photographers are chucked out by the end of the 2nd-3rd song.

Lil Wayne at HMV Hammersmith Apollo

Maybe because I’m not famliar with how hip-hop setups work, but what’s with the ‘wing man’ with the other mic yelling , “yeah, yeah, yeah??!!” at every conceivable moment?  Apparently, I’ve been told he’s the ‘Hype Man‘.  I don’t get it, but hey, you learn something new.   At least there was some compensation to make up for that ‘mic-racket’ in the form of a backing band, so I guess that counts for something.  Don’t even get me started about the guys wearing their trousers down to nearly their knees; that’s a sure-fire way to trip over and break your leg!

Lil Wayne at HMV Hammersmith Apollo

I have to give it to Lil Wayne, though: He knows how to get the crowd going.  Anyway, this is more of a picture blog. If you want a musical review, find out via google. 🙂

Pax, Pilgrims!

All images are © Pixgremlin.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Lil Wayne's World…

  1. Really cool low light shots, what equipment did you use? I agree about his music, not really my thing, listen to more old stuff, but you have captured him so crisply.

    • Hey Phil. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 Used Nikon D3 & f/2.8 24-70. I think ISO was about 800. With the jumping shot, I had to sharpen it up a bit because I was not prepared for that! I’ve got u on twitter.

Leave a Reply

