Home

And you may ask yourself
What is that beautiful house?
And you may ask yourself
Where does that highway go?
And you may ask yourself
Am I right? …am I wrong?
And you may tell yourself
My God!…what have I done?

Every now and then, a musical genius arises, remains consistant as a musical talent and gives us every reason once again to appreciate the joys of music. David Byrne is one of those guys.  I’d never really knew any of David Byrne’s  music until my colleague introduced me to ‘Talking Heads’, and from that moment on, I was hooked.  When you’ve collaborated with musical pedigree like Brian Eno,  there’s the high probability that you’re going to churn out  some memorable music, including my personal favourite, ‘Once in a Lifetime‘.  If you don’t know or appreciate the fuss behind this track, then you need to be re-educated with the finer attributes of music.  With a sold out gig at the Barbican, Mr. Byrne was going to put on a performance that people have been drooling over to see for months, or in some instances, years!

David Byrne at the Barbican

Music aside; as a stage man,  David Byrne is a legen-d! (Observe how I place the emphasis on thed‘)  Apart from Bobby McFerrin, which other performer do you know that’s either alive or dead, who would encourage  the audience to take as many pictures as they’d like, film as much material as you’d want with no fear of being ejected from the auditorium? ( See if a musician like Keith Jarrett would even agree to that!) And here was Mr.Byrne telling everyone to film and have fun. He even gave the accreditated photographers a shout out!! Some how, I can’t picture most performers doing that. Hey: they hate us photographers!!

David Byrne at the Barbican

If I tried to review in words the whole gig, I wouldn’t do the gig any justice, so here’s David Smyth’s review in today’s Evening Standard.

David Byrne at the Barbican

As far as photography goes, I think the words of my fellow Twitter, Tom Watkins, summed it up: “Wishes more people could be like David Byrne when it comes to photographers…!”

Vobiscum, Pilgrims!

Leave a Reply

