Home

Pax Vobiscum, Pilgrims.

It’s been a busy week, and if anyone said commissioning  a photographer for a front cover is easy, hasn’t done it before.  And don’t even get me started with journalists who think that because an image is online can be used without any copyright consequences!

But I digress.  On Saturday, I had the challenge to take pictures of South African Jazz legend Abdullah Ibrahim.  Now, I say challenge because Mr.Ibrahim is infamously notorious for not wanting to see photographers during the performance.  There have been occasions that he has actually stopped playing during a show just because he saw a photographer. For this gig, though, we were given the first 10 minutes to shoot after his solo performance.  To re-iterate his disdain, his stage manager came out before the show to brief us again, and even he seemed really nervous.  If there was ever a moment that I was freaking out, it was this gig.  Everything was so quiet that I was scared that if he heard the mirrors of the camera go off, he’d stop the show. So, I decided to shoot right from the back.  I only took about 7 frames. Here’s one of them:

Yesterday was Jason Moran at St. Luke’s, and I have to say: taking pictures of pianists in very confined spaces is an art that I am yet to master.  Once again, you don’t want to disturb paying customers just because you want to get a shot of the artist.  Stupidly, I forgot my monopod, so had to shoot with a ‘steady hand’.  Unless you have a 300 F2.8 lens, well, you’re fresh out of luck:

That said about both of them when it comes to taking pictures, musically, both Abdullah and Jason are geniuses in their own right.  Abdullah Ibrahim is somewhat of an acquired taste, but Jason Moran is more my cup of tea. With his tribute performance to Theolonius Monk yesterday, it’s no wonder the performance was sold out yesterday.

One thought on “Abdullah Ibrahim vs Jason Moran (Pictorially, that is…)

  1. you are blessed!!…you got to attend this??!…i am sooo in the wrong line of life!!…lighting is really nice, especially on the second one…i love that you used black and white…i’m really gone now…

Leave a Reply

