Home

Hey, hey!! Happy May Day, you pilgrims. I cannot believe that we’ve come into a new month. Another thing to be thankful for.

Speaking of May Day, I’m busy at work sorting some images for press day when my Art Director calls out to me: “Akin, there’s a procession gathering outside with the police all over the place for the May Day Demonstrations. Grab the departmental camera and get some shots!” (which, in actually translation, means: “What the hell do you think you’re doing here when there’s an absolutely good reason for us to get some News shots from the demo without us sourcing or buying images from the Picture agencies? Get your punk ass out there and  you better get some decent pictures!!!!!!” )  Now, who am I to complain not to go out and take pictures, especially when it means getting out of the office and take in real, polluted London air? No, no! Let’s forget that I’m on deadline and was supposed to be having a free lunch which would actually be paid for by one of the mags that I work on, and how often does that happen?

The atmosphere was mild, to be honest, although I’m guessing it’d be more intense in Central London later on. However, I played it safe and just stood with the police. (Although, in hindsight, I think standing with protesters would have been safer!) Anyway, here’s one of the shots I took:

Leave a Reply

