Home

I have a bad bout of flu so I really can’t write much.  I’m stuck on the couch wrapped with the duvet, cartons of Orange Juice , half a pot of Nigeria style ‘pepper soup’, half a bottle of Night Nurse, and let’s not forget Kleenex tissues. I intend to kill this flu if it’s the last thing I do.

Anyway, here are a couple shots I took last weekend.  If you ever watched Westside Story, you might be familiar with Chita Rivera.  She performed at the Shaw Theatre to a full auditorium that included Sir Ian McKellen. I swear, I was this close to asking Sir Ian: “Oi!! Your Sirship!! Recite your Gandalf line from any of the ‘Lord of the Rings’ Movies!!” To be honest, I don’t think I’d have done anything that moronic… or would I??:

Chita Rivera:

Next gig was on Sunday and it was for the London Sitar Ensemble, who were having their Indo-Afro Strings concert.  The plan was for me to take pictures during the concert, but that was going to be a nightmare, considering that firstly the gig was going to be held at the Purcell Room and you have literally zero movement to move during the concert.  Apart from that, you have the whole team on stage, and getting a group shot from the audience would have been near impossible without some visual interference.   As if that was going to be challenging enough, I couldn’t change the House Light settings because of the sensitivity of the sitars already tuned.  But hey! I like a challenge, so here are some of the shots from the Sound check/dress rehearsal.  I couldn’t stay for the concert because I was already beginning to burn up with fever, but from what I heard earlier, I must have missed one hell of a concert:

12 thoughts on “Weekend Picture Review (Chita Rivera/London Sitar Ensemble

  1. What a star you are!!! Love the photos – cant wait to see more – it’s a shame you couldn’t stay for the show … it was amazing … even if i do say so my self! 🙂
    Hope you feel better soon … sounds like you have everything you need to “kill the flu”! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  2. Wow! You breathed the same air as Sir Ian! I love that guy. Apart from the fact that he’s a phenomenal actor, he has an approachable and down to earth quality about him.

    I also love the picture of Chita. My photography-speak is pretty limited, so i cant really describe what it is about it i like. But i think its kinda striking. You’re good..:)

  3. hope you get well soon…absolutely love the pics!!!…wow!!…the one with the guy turning the page…the one where the other instrumentalists are blurry except for the guy at the end!!!!…you’re great…even while sick!!…i am thoroughly impressed!!…will be back to see more…i hope the flu is killed!…

Leave a Reply

