Home

Sometimes, you wonder how conflicts start. In most instances, it begins with the most trivial of things. So I was asked to cover Linkin Park at the 02 yesterday. Now, it’d be the second time I’d have to cover a gig at this venue and I just don’t like the O2 when it comes to photography. Either way, job’s a job and it’s a challenge, and I like challenges. The band came on, and all the problems you get with live music photography came with their set. To be honest, I didn’t get the shots I wanted, but you can’t always get what you want. As a matter of fact, one of my cameras died on me, so that kind of irritated me. At the end of the third song, we were, as per usual, chucked out from the pit. Just as we were about to get out of the venue, the giant burly security guard asked all of us to return our photo-passes. Please bear in mind that firstly, these passes are not even laminated, but the ‘stick on as you go’ types. Secondly, how would it make sense for us to go back into any area within the auditorium with said pass when it can only be issued for the 1st 3 songs rule. “Sorry, House Rules state that the passes should be returned!” House rules?! I was actually going to argue with him, but then I assessed the situation and came to the conclusion that:

A: This guy is huge and has a whole army with him if it got out off hand.

B. It’s just a photopass, and it’s not a Golden ticket to enter Willy Wonka’s Chocolate factory.

C. I don’t want my gear smashed on the floor just for a pictures of a gig that may/may not even sell.

D. He who angers you controls you, and trust me: I’d rather waste my saliva on instances more worthwhile.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: if you think Live Music photography is a doddle, you have another think coming. The irony to live music photography is this: after the first 3 songs, we are chucked out from the venue. It’s actually the punter who is right in front of the stage with a fixed lens camera who would actually get the better shot, post it up on the internet, and God Knows what happens next. Anyway, rant over. A couple of shots from the night:

Good seeing you guys yesterday, Neil, Carsten, and all ye other grxers.. 🙂

8 thoughts on ““It’s just a flipping Linkin Park photo-pass!!!!”

  1. I think perhaps the feeling of power overtook him…some security guards can be such dick heads (excuse my French.)

    And it’s so true about the “punter who is right in front of the stage.” I think that there are actually more good photo opportunities further into the show than during the first three songs.

  2. Well, you did get some shots anyway! As for body guards, i fear them, I do whatever they say, sometimes I have to restainn myself from saying “yes sir”

  3. I was going to cover this for the magazine but in the end really couldn’t be bothered… So some Security are still under orders to acts like cavemen I see…!

    Maybe they were concerned about re-cycling and wanted the badge back to help the environment… or maybe not…!

    Glad you are keeping busy Mr A.

  4. yummy… a Golden ticket for the Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory…Where do I get one of these? I am addicted to the thing. And as for the front row with a fixed lens, it is not a doodle either I can tell you, haha. Take care, I like your rants.

Leave a Reply

