Home

Ok, it’s taken a while, but I’m finally back to blogging about pictures, life and then some.

First off, let’s talk about that time of the year in the UK when the majority of people get caught up in the whole festive season and spectacularly forget the reason why we even celebrate the birth of Christ. It’s the same every year: Tis’ the season to be silly! That’s right, peeps. Let’s look at Christmas shopping: Dare to go into any shopping mall or locale, the worst being Central London’s Oxford Street, and you realise just how worked up people can get just to buy ‘the’ present of the year. I sincerely believe that Christmas shopping brings more stress than going on the first date! Fortunes are spent just to buy a present and then it becomes a question of trying to out-buy in terms of gifts. Me, I no dey craze! You can call me an Ebeneezer Scrooge for all I care, but why would I spend a fortune on a present for one day, when I can get a better deal during the sales, which takes place a couple of days after Christmas??? Come on, people.. let’s be logical with this one, shall we. Yes, you want to see the look of delight on you’re loved one’s face when when they unwrap the gift, but why not get them an box with an ‘I.O.U’ note. The missus and my family already know the score on where I stand on presents. Speaking of presents, a couple of mornings on BBC Breakfast news, they were showing ideas for Christmas presents, and some of them happened to be jewellery worth £250,000. I had to say to myself, “Imagine the number of people making their way into work seeing this and really, really hating their jobs!!”

Tis’ is also the season where you have people drink themselves silly. Office Christmas parties are in full swing, and an open bar is just a recipe for disaster. You’d think many people would learn from the embarrassing ‘Chicken Dance’ or snog or ‘Throwing Up’ escapades. You’d think so! It’s already started, mind you: taking the late train from work or training, and I encounter people in the ‘Yuletide’ spirit of being totally ‘wasted’. Slurring words, designer suits stinking to the high heavens from alcohol, cigarettes, and the delightful remnants of vomit. Yep, a sight not to behold.

I could go on and on, but I’m not going to go down that path. To be honest, I honestly did not want to spend Christmas in the UK. Other bloggers that I know are meeting up in Niaja, and you just know that it’s going to be a laugh and half! Oh, well… maybe next year..

I haven’t been to many photography gigs in the past week. However, I did get a call asking whether I’d like to cover a band called, ‘The Penguin Cafe Orchestra’. I had no idea what this group was about, but on the strength of their name alone, I just had to check them out. I was pleasantly suprised by their music, and the beautiful thing about it was that they took bits from different genres. Unfortunately, I couldn’t really get the pictures that I had envisaged due to space restrictions. Oh, well. At least I enjoyed the music:

3 thoughts on “Tis' the season & The Penguin Cafe Orchestra Pictures…

  1. Thot i was d only one who stopped buying presents during the madness. I found d kids were only looking 2 xmas 4 presents so i stopped cold turkey. And guess what? They got over it. Now d focus is on family , gratitude & joy (pure joy). Then depending on how d wallet and DR Sale is looking, we all troop 2 d store(s) and they get 2 pick what they want. A treat they don’t get every year.

    So, keep the Spirit Comrade!

Leave a Reply

