Home

There’s a bible verse that goes along the lines of “Ask, and it will be given unto you.” (Matthew 7.7)

Now, I’m quite sure that when you do ask, it’s all about being polite. I sincerely believe that some decorum and diplomacy might get you something eventually. Or so you’d think.

This brings me to an incident that took place a couple of weeks ago as I was on my way back home from shopping. A very young girl that couldn’t have been more than 16 years old, hurries up to me, and this is the gist of the conversation:

Teenage Angst: (sniffling and using her sleeve to clear the mucus) “S’cuse me, Can I have £2, please?”

Me: “I’m sorry, what did you say??”

Teenage Angst: (Now raising her voice and being slightly aggressively demanding) “Said can I have £2. I need money to get a bus home.”

Now, I’m all for helping people out: only if you ask nicely. Her tone and attitude was getting out of order. With behaviour like that, there was no way I was going to help now. So, I tried to finish up this ‘transaction’ of words.

Me: (Feigning as if I was fumbling through my pockets for some change) “I’m sorry. I don’t think I have…”

Teenage Angst: (rudely interrupting me mid-sentence) “Wha?? Grown man like you don’t have £2 to give me?? Cha!!”

At this point, I just started to walk away.

Teenage Angst: (shouting out at me) “If I was you’re child, you’d ‘elp me out!”

I stopped, slowly turned my head around and replied:

“First off, you’re not my child. And secondly, if you were, I’m sure I’d have something to say about your manners and command of English!”

Cheeky bugger! I mean, do I really look that old to be a dad to a teenager???

One thought on “"Gimme Money…"

Leave a Reply

