Aworan

May 11, 2010

“What is wrong with you people?!?!?”: Sound rehearsals with John McLaughlin & 4th Dimension

‘Assumption is the mother of all **** ups!’- Anonymous

Wotcha, Pilgrims!

Sometimes, common curtesy can go a very, very long way.  Yet today I got caught out for not asking, just because I assumed.

Let’s go back 24 hours earlier.   I requested a photopass to cover Jazz Guitar maestro Mr John Mclaughlin & the 4th Dimension at the Barbican tonight, and was told that photography was allowed. I was then asked whether I’d want to cover the sound check.  Now, if you’ve ever been to the Barbican, you’ll know why I jumped at the opportunity: you get the freedom to move around (incognito, of course!), and you don’t disturb other people. Got to the rehearsals, but no JMcL in sight. No worries: just shoot everything you can.  30 minutes later, Mr.John comes into the auditorium:

Armed with his weapon of choice (a guitar) and a big smile, he walks on stage and talks to the other members of the band about sound levels and such.  Out of the blue, he turns to me and, still retaining that big smile, starts with:

J.McL: “So, you’re another one who’s got in?”

Me: “Excuse me?”

J.McL: “I said, you’re another one who’s got in!?”

(I should have known right then that something was going to happen!)

Me: “I’d been given permission to shoot the rehearsal and gig.”

J.McL: (still with big smile, but only with a hint of menace) ” Oh, I know you have, but did you bother to ask me for my permission??  “What is wrong with you people?!?” Nothing stops you from asking, is there??!?!?”

Me: (rather sheepishly & now looking like a complete muppet and a half) “No…. may I take your pictures?”

J.McL: “Yes, you may.”

And with that still menacing smile and twinkle in his eye, he goes back to rehearsals like nothing happened.  I, on the other hand, was mentally kicking myself for not asking in the first place. The irony is that I normally do ask musicians if they don’t mind me shooting while rehearsing, so why didn’t I today?!?!? He had every right to question my being there, so Mr. McLauglin (and the rest of the team), if you’re reading this: ‘I’m Sorry.’

On a lighter note, here’s the rest of the shots:

John Mclaughlin with drummer Mark Mondesir:

Gary Husband on Drums (he was also on Keyboards; lousy talented punk! :-):

John McLaughlin with Bassist Hadrien Feraud:

The 4th Dimension:

John McLaughlin

Since I got most of the shots from sound-check, I decided against going to the main performance , because A: you can’t move around as much as you’d like to, and and B: I wasn’t sure if Mr. McLaughlin would pull a Keith Jarrett; I seriously doubt he would have, but you just never know! ;-)

Pax Vobiscum!

1 Comment »

  1. Not so shocked by his interrogation, he probably has experienced the worst from the papparazzi. But you still took brilliant shots nevertheless, lol. :)

    Comment by Jaycee — May 11, 2010 @ 8:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

